• Sat. Oct 29th, 2022

Black Caps skipper becomes first four-time winner of NZC’s top award, as our greatest cricketer breaks the good news.

Apr 13, 2021

Even the great Sir Richard Hadlee couldnt cajole Kane Williamson into selecting his favourite innings, as he presented the skipper with New Zealand Crickets supreme individual award for the fourth time.
Williamson became the first four-time winner of the Sir Richard Hadlee Medal for mens player of the year since its inception in 2011, at NZCs virtual awards ceremony for the 2020-21 season on Tuesday night.
The worlds top-ranked test batsman, who also pocketed the medal in 2016, 2017 and 2019, was a compelling candidate after batting nearly 29 hours across four test innings against West Indies and Pakistan.
Black Caps coach Gary Stead is satisfied with his team’s efforts during the summer just gone.
In a test batting masterclass he scored 639 runs at an average of 159.75, including his highest test score of 251 in Hamilton, and 238 in Christchurch to help clinch a 4-0 home series sweep and qualify for the World Test Championship final.
READ MORE:* White Ferns seek answers and improvements after season to forget * World test championship final: Four-pronged pace attack in play for Black Caps* Black Caps summon Rachin Ravindra, Jacob Duffy to test squad for England tour* Black Caps summer in review: Who impressed and who’s under pressure?
A video was shown of the congratulatory call made by Hadlee to Williamson, at Bay Oval in Tauranga before he departed for the Indian Premier League.
Its the fourth time now, so have you got space somewhere in the trophy cabinet, or wherever you put these medals? Hadlee said.
Williamson replied with a smile: Theres no trophy cabinet at my house, but Im privileged to receive that.
New Zealand’s Kane Williamson plunders against Pakistan in the second test at Hagley Oval in January.
Ross Taylor last year, and Trent Boult in 2018, were the only non-Williamson winners these past six years.
Asked by the great bowler to single out his favourite innings of the summer, Williamson played a familiar straight bat.
Going into the test summer there was that [World Test] Championship final carrot, and there was a real drive for the guys, although it seemed a long way off and winning four test matches before youd started one was a pretty lofty goal.
… To spend some time at the crease, personally, and make contributions towards that, it is hard to pinpoint one but certainly pretty proud as a leader in the side that we were able to achieve some of those things and were looking forward to that final.
Williamson will lead the Black Caps against world No 1 India in the WTC final starting in Southampton on June 18.
Devon Conway was a revelation for the Black Caps ODI and T20 sides this season.
While Williamson was named test player of the year, ahead of strong challenges from Tim Southee and Kyle Jamieson, Devon Conway scooped the mens ODI and T20I awards for his breakout summer with the bat.
The 29-year-old South African, who qualified for New Zealand selection last August, averaged 59 at a sizzling strike rate of 151 from his 11 T20 international innings, and in three ODIs against Bangladesh scored his maiden century and averaged 75 for the series.
White Ferns allrounder Amelia Kerr was another two-time winner on the night, as womens T20I player of the year and the standout of the womens T20 Super Smash for Wellington Blaze.
Kerr played a key part in the Ferns two T20 victories over world champions Australia in Brisbane and Napier, while in the Super Smash she averaged 51 with the bat at a strike rate of 134 and took 14 wickets, including a hat-trick in the Blazes final defeat to Canterbury Magicians.
Hagen Hopkins/Getty Images
Amelia Kerr was a shining light in a tough summer for the White Ferns.
Amy Satterthwaite, who returned from having her first child, won the womens ODI award for her 304 runs at 38 including 119 not out against England in game three at Dunedin.
Williamson won the Redpath Cup for first-class batting while Jamieson snared his first NZC award with the Winsor Cup for first-class bowling, after snaring 27 test wickets at 12, and 20 wickets in three Plunket Shield matches for Auckland including a hat-trick against Central Districts.
Wellingtons Finn Allen was a standout choice for the mens Super Smash award, after he blasted 512 runs at a strike rate of 194 in the Firebirds run to the title.
In women’s domestic cricket, Canterburys dual titles were recognised when Kate Ebrahim (Ruth Martin Cup, batting) and Sarah Asmussen (Phyl Blackler Cup, bowling) got the silverware.
Former New Zealand captain and manager Jeff Crowe won the Bert Sutcliffe Medal for outstanding services to cricket, after the respected ICC match referee officiated in his 300th ODI across a 17-year-career in Christchurch in March.
New Zealand Cricket award winners for 2020-21:
Sir Richard Hadlee Medal: Kane Williamson (Northern Districts)
Bert Sutcliffe Medal for outstanding services to cricket: Jeff Crowe
Test player of the year: Williamson
Womens ODI player: Amy Satterthwaite (Canterbury)
Mens ODI player: Devon Conway(Wellington)
Womens T20I player: Amelia Kerr (Wellington)
Mens T20I player: Conway
Womens domestic player: Frankie Mackay(Canterbury)
Mens domestic player: Daryl Mitchell (Canterbury)
Womens T20 Super Smash player: Kerr
Mens T20 Super Smash player: Finn Allen (Wellington)
Redpath Cup (first-class batting): Williamson
Ruth Martin Cup (womens domestic batting): Kate Ebrahim (Canterbury)
Winsor Cup (first-class bowling): Kyle Jamieson (Auckland)
Phyl Blackler Cup (womens domestic bowling): Sarah Asmussen (Canterbury)
New Zealand umpire of the year: Chris Brown